Beyond Wood and Stone

Rev. Elisabeth's Cedar Park Blog site

Resurrection Project Day 14: “See Me, Touch Me, I am real.”

I am deep into the biblical text for tomorrow’s sermon. It’s Luke’s third of four resurrection stories.  (Luke 24:36-48).  In this one, Jesus joins a group of fearful disciples, and they are scared witless!  They saw him die, and they saw him buried, and  yet here he is!  He speaks to their fear of the impossible by saying ” See Me. Touch Me. I am real.”  Related image

Those words, yet again, took on new flesh, as my hand reached out in greeting to Najah, Sa’ed and their eldest son Alhareth.   No longer names in my prayer journal, no longer photographic images on our church announcement screen.  I see, I am blessed to touch in  greeting, and they are real.  And so are we, to them.

Another Easter Day, another dawning of hope, another small victory for justice,  another triumph of fidelity and love. Let’s shape the world this way, yes?

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Elizabeth Chown Lafreniere

    April 14, 2018 at 3:51 pm

    Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

*

Skip to toolbar