Are you a glass half-empty or half-full type person?  I ought not to be counted among the world’s optimists, at least by natural inclination – I resonate more with Eeyore than Piglet!  I have come to realize over the years, that there’s at least some wiggle room in life to choose my response to the circumstances I find myself in. And sometimes I have to choose to be hopeful, or choose to be grateful, or choose not to let anger take over.  A tiny thing in the grand scheme of things, but for 266 households in Beaconsfield yesterday afternoon and evening, the power went out. I had things to do on my computer, my cell phone was low on battery life, and I could feel the ire rising…and then I remembered this Resurrection Project.  “What will I choose, in this situation that brings life?” Goshdarn it, I preached it, I’d better practise what I preach!

So I chose to phone a colleague to plan a life-giving event with the remaining battery power,  and accepted an invitation to supper. I chose to stop en route to be amazed at the ice sculptures along the lakeshore, and had a delightful conversation  and relished the baked fish, and joined friends at the pub afterwards. That’s Resurrection living, and it was more than I could have asked or imagined….